The Seven Spirits of God

 In Daily Devotional

Isaiah 11:2-3

“The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him—
the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
the Spirit of counsel and of might,
the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the LORD—
3 and he will delight in the fear of the LORD.”

Have you ever noticed that the Bible says there are seven Spirits of God? No? It surprised me too.

Stop a minute and check out these scriptures: Revelation 1:9; Revelation 3:1; and, Revelation 4:5. I wondered specifically what these seven Spirits would be, and the Holy Spirit led me to today’s passage in Isaiah 11:2-3.

So, are the seven Spirits of the Lord listed here by Isaiah? I believe they are. If so, they would be the Spirit of wisdom, the Spirit of understanding, the Spirit of counsel, the Spirit of might, the Spirit of knowledge, and the Spirit of the fear of the Lord. Wait. Isn’t that only six?

I asked the Holy Spirit, what is the seventh? He had me focus on the first line, “the Spirit of the Lord…” That seems too general, but our Lord Jesus said, “I am the Truth.” That’s it, I thought, there must be a Spirit of Truth because the Lord told us He is Truth, and that is the one thing that is conspicuously absent from the list of the other six!

Now, I am not saying, “Thus says the Lord…”, I am only sharing what I believe the Holy Spirit shared with me – truth, wisdom, understanding, counsel, might, knowledge and the fear of the Lord. I want more of all of the seven Spirits of God by and through the One Holy Spirit!


Ask the Father to reveal more of each of His Seven Spirits to you through His One Holy Spirit.

Dive Deeper: Study Isaiah 11; Revelation 1:4, 3:1, 4:5.